Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   Magallanes Stay on DST

Magallanes Region in Chile to Stay on DST


Published 6-Dec-2016

The Magallanes Region in Chile will stay on Daylight Saving Time (DST) indefinitely. The change will also apply in the Chilean Antarctic.

City view of Punta Arenas in Chile.

Punta Arenas in the Magallanes Region, Chile.

Punta Arenas in the Magallanes Region in Chile will be 1 hour ahead of the rest of the country


The Magallanes Region, including its capital Punta Arenas, will stay on DST as the rest of Chile set their clocks back 1 hour to standard time on May 14, 2017.

Signed by the President

President Michelle Bachelet signed the law on December 4, 2017.

Politicians in the region have long argued that daylight hours are short in Magallanes and that the 1 hour of extra light in the afternoon will be good for tourism and people's health.

Remain on UTC-3

Staying on DST will change the time zone in the Magallanes Region and the Chilean Arctic to a UTC offset of minus 3 hours (UTC-3).

The US-run Antarctic base, Palmer Station, is located in the Chilian Antarctic and will likely also follow the time zone change.

Chilean Time Zones

Chile is currently on DST and Chile Summer Time (CLST). When the DST period ends on May 14, 2017, mainland Chile with the capital Santiago will fall back to UTC-4 and Chile Standard Time (CST).

In January 2015, Chile decided to remain on DST permanently. However, only a year later the Chilean Ministry of Energy announced that the country would introduce yearly clock changes again from May 15, 2016.

Current time in
Punta Arenas


Saturday, 17 August 2019


Time Zone Tools

You might also like

Perseid Shooting Star Alert!

Perseid Shooting Star Alert!

The Perseid meteor shower peaks between August 12 and 14 with up to 110 shooting stars per hour. Find them with our Interactive Meteor Shower Sky Map. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more

GMT or BST in the UK?

The UK is not on Greenwich Mean Time (GMT) all year. During Daylight Saving Time the correct time zone is British Summer Time (BST). more