Home   Time Zones   Time Zone News   California Scraps Bill to Remove DST

California Scraps Bill to Remove DST


Published 25-Aug-2016. Changed 31-Aug-2016

Update: No Californian Vote on DST

August 30, 2016, Assembly Bill 365 was voted down for the second time, removing the chance for Californians to vote on keeping or abolishing DST.

Californian voters will most likely not get the chance to vote on removing DST.

Beach with Golden Gate Bridge in background at sunset.

The Golden Gate Bridge in California.

California considered removing DST, but the bill was voted down. Sunset at the Golden Gate Bridge in San Francisco will continue to spring forward 1 hour every spring.


Assembly Bill 385 would have allowed Californians to vote to keep Daylight Saving Time, or to stay on Pacific Standard Time (PST) all year.

Stopped in the State Senate

Even though the bill passed the Californian Senate Appropriations Committee on August 11, it lost by 4 votes in the state Senate August 23, 2016. The bill needed 21 votes to pass.

Opponents argued that the increased time difference would complicate trading between the East Coast and West Coast, changing the time difference from 3 to 4 hours.

A Possible Revote

Republican Senator Ted Gaines of El Dorado Hills voted for the bill. He claims DST causes health problems, and that voters should get a chance to end the practice. He got permission to bring the bill up for a new vote next week.

Californian voters first said yes to Daylight Saving Time in 1949, and DST has been in regular use in the state since 1950.

Common Proposal

Assemblyman Kansen Chu from the San Jose District in California first presented the bill, claiming it was time for the public to have their say. In Alaska, a proposal to permanently change the time zone by 1 hour and remove DST, is advancing in the State Legislature.

DST in the US

In the US, clocks are set back 1 hour from 02:00 (2 am) to 01:00 (1 am) local time on the first Sunday in November. Clocks spring forward again from 02:00 (2 am) to 03:00 (3 am) local time the second Sunday in March.

Hawaii and most of Arizona are the only 2 US states that do not use Daylight Saving Time. US dependencies American Samoa, Guam, Puerto Rico, Northern Marina Islands, The US Minor Outlying Islands, and The US Virgin Islands do not observe DST.

Current time in


Saturday, 17 August 2019


Time Zone Map With DST

Time Zone Map

You might also like

Perseid Shooting Star Alert!

Perseid Shooting Star Alert!

The Perseid meteor shower peaks between August 12 and 14 with up to 110 shooting stars per hour. Find them with our Interactive Meteor Shower Sky Map. more

Commuters and tourists in Canary Wharf, London, United Kingdom.

Daylight Saving Time (DST)

Daylight Saving Time (DST) is the practice of setting the clocks forward one hour from standard time during the summer months, and back again in the fall, in order to make better use of natural daylight. more

Business watch and one hundred dollar bill

History of DST

History of Daylight Savings Time (DST). Who invented it and in what year? What is the purpose of having a time change every year and when did Daylight Saving Time start? more

Skyline of downtown Indianapolis, Indiana, USA.

Time Zones in Indiana

In Indiana, USA, there are are two time zones: Central Time and Eastern Time. All counties set their clocks one hour to and from Daylight Saving Time (DST) twice a year. Indiana time zone map with local time in each county. more